Sunshine Coast Sportfishing Club Inc.

Annual Awards
CategoryDescriptionCurrent Winners
Club Champion SeniorThe winner will be determined as the angler who has completed the challenge of capturing and correctly submitting, via the ANSA Qld website or the Fishamon app, 12 selected species in a single season.

If no angler completes the challenge of all 12 species then it will fall to the next highest number of species. In case of a draw, the angler with the most trophy fish will win, followed by comparison of length of alike species, followed by the most combined centimetres over legal length.

• All tackle. It is up to the angler to determine their tackle as defined by the ANSA Qld Rule Book.
• Minimum eligible size of the Queensland legal length.
• No Maximum length even if the fish is subject to a fisheries max length (these fish must be released).

Selected Species:

Pelagic: Mackerel, Tuna, Cobia.
Freshwater: Australian Bass, Saratoga, Barramundi.
Coastal: Flathead, Dart, Mangrove Jack.
Reef: Snapper, Tusk Fish, Jewfish.

* Length upgrades allowed

Snr Club Champion
Jim Brennan
Club Champion JuniorSame criteria as above for junior anglers as per ANSA Qld rules.
Jnr Club Champion
Harry Somlyay
Angler of the Year
• Line Class
The winner will be determined as the angler who accumulates the most points from capturing and correctly submitting fish from the ANSA Qld Eligible Species List in a single season.

Eligible Capture Criteria:

• Only one fish of each species is eligible however the capture can be upgraded during the season.
• Line classes and tackle per ANSA Rule book.
• Points awarded per ANSA Rule Book.
• Line class captures can also be eligible for all other annual awards.

Juniors eligible (no separate category).

AOY Line Class
Jim Brennan
Angler of the Year

• Freshwater
• Coastal
• Reef
• Pelagic
Angler of the Year Divisions are awarded to the angler/s that captures and correctly submits the most species per the ANSA Qld Eligible Species List in a single season.

• Divisions are determined by using ANSA Qld divisions. See website for full details.
• No minimum or maximum length criteria apply (it is a species challenge).
• All tackle per ANSA Rule Book (no line class categories).

Juniors eligible (no separate category).

AOY Freshwater
Joan Steele

AOY Coastal
Vic Guse

AOY Reef
Lawrie Zarb

AOY Pelagic
Clive Browne
President's TrophySelected by the SCSFC President. Awarded to a club member for outstanding contribution to the SCSFC.
President's Trophy
Ken Brazier
Most Improved SportfisherSelected by the Awards Committee Chair. Awarded to the club member who has shown the most commitment and progress in improving their sportfishing life.
Most Improved
Geoff Zielke
Most Meritorious Capture/AchievementSelected by the Awards Committee Chair. Awarded to a club member for an outstanding capture or achievement.
Meritorious Capture
Vince Kreis
Dunny Seat AwardSelected by the Awards Committee Chair. This prestigious and coveted award goes to a club member who performs the most outstanding and/or out of character act of danger and awkwardness. You are not a true-blue member of the club elite until you have received the special award.
Dunny Seat Award
Bob Koch
Non Award Category
Monitoring and Tagging: Participation Certificate
Bucket List: Achievement Certificate