Home | Competitions Awards | Members | Club Info | Sponsors | Links | Gallery

Sunshine Coast Sportfishing Club
Annual Awards

Club Champion Senior

The winner will be determined as the angler who has completed the challenge of capturing and correctly submitting, via the ANSA website or Fishmon app, 12 selected species in a single season. If no angler completes the challenge of all 12 species then it will fall to the next highest number of species. In case of a draw, the angler with the most trophy fish will win, followed by comparison of length of alike species, followed by the most combined centimetres over legal length.

 All tackle. It is up to the angler to determine their tackle as defined by the ANSA Qld Rule Book
 Minimum eligible size of Queensland legal length.
 No Maximum length even if the fish is subject to a fisheries slot length (these fish must be released)
 Selected Species;
  • Mackerel, Tuna, Cobia.
  • Australian Bass, Saratoga, Barramundi.
  • Flathead, Dart, Mangrove Jack.
  • Snapper, Tusk Fish, Jewfish
 Length upgrades allowed
2020-21 Winners

Club Champion - Jim Brennan

Club Champion Junior

Same criteria as Above for junior anglers per the ANSA Qld rules
Jnr Club Champion - Harry Somlyay

Angler of the Year

  • Line Class
The winner will be determined as the angler who accumulates the most points from capturing and correctly submitting fish from the ANSA Qld Eligible Species List in a single season.
Eligible Capture Criteria:
  • Only one fish of each species is eligible however the capture can be upgraded during the season
  • Line classes and tackle per ANSA Rule book
  • Points awarded per ANSA Rule Book
  • Line class captures can also be eligible for all other annual awards
  • Juniors eligible (no separate category)

AOY Line Class - Jim Brennan

Angler of the Year

  • Freshwater
  • Coastal
  • Reef
  • Pelagic

Angler of the Year Divisions are awarded to the angler/s that captures and correctly submits the most species per the ANSA Qld Eligible Species List in a single season.
  • Divisions are determined by using ANSA Qld divisions. See website for full details
  • No minimum or maximum length criteria apply (it is a species challenge)
  • All tackle per ANSA Rule Book (no line class categories)
  • Juniors eligible (no separate category)

AOY Freshwater - Joan Steele

AOY Coastal - Vic Guse

AOY Reef - Lawrie Zarb

AOY Pelagic - Clive Browne

President's Trophy

Selected by the SCSFC President. Awarded to a club member for outstanding contribution to the SCSFC
President's Trophy - Ken Brazier

Most Improved Sportfisher

Selected by the Awards Committee Chair. Awarded to the club member who has shown the most commitment and progress in their sportfishing life
Most Improved - Geoff Zielke

Most Meritorious Capture/Achievement

Selected by the Awards Committee Chair. Awarded to a member for an outstanding capture or achievement.
Meritorious Capture - Vince Kreis

Dunny Seat Award

Selected by the Awards Committee Chair. This prestigious and coveted award goes to a club member who performs the most outstanding and/or out of character act of danger and awkwardness. You are not a true-blue member of the club elite until you have received the special award.

Dunny Seat Award - Bob Koch